Faculty Bios

At the University of Maryland School of Social Work, our faculty members are consistently ranked among the most active and productive social work scholars and researchers in the nation.

Not only are our faculty engaged in teaching, research, and practice, but they are also accessible and dedicated to meeting students' needs outside of the classroom.

 

Last Name: A - D  |  E - HI - L  |  M - P  |  Q - T  |  U - Z | ALL

 

Search By Keyword:



Haksoon Ahn

Haksoon Ahn, Associate Professor

Research Interests: Child Welfare and Family Welfare; Quality Assurance (QA) and Continuous Quality Improvement (CQI) in Child Welfare; Family-Centered Practice (FCP), Foster Parents; Welfare Policy, Poverty, Inequality, Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF), and Child Care; Economic Analysis, Administrative data; US Census Bureau’s Survey of Income and Program Participation (SIPP) Panel Data


Email: hahn@ssw.umaryland.edu  | Phone: (410) 706-4704  | Room: 3W09


 

Richard P. Barth, Dean of the School of Social Work and Professor

Research Interests: He has directed more than 50 studies and perhaps, most significantly, served as Principal Investigator of Berkeley’s Child Welfare Research Center from 1990 to 1996 and as Co-Principal Investigator of the National Survey of Child and Adolescent Well-Being, the first national study of child welfare services in the US.


Email: rbarth@ssw.umaryland.edu  | Phone: (410) 706-7794 | Room: 5E14A


 

John Belcher

John R. Belcher, Professor‌

Research Interests: Children, Youth, and Families; Community, Poverty, and Social Justice; Crime/Criminal Justice/Delinquency; Health; Homelessness; Housing; Management; Mental Health; Policy; Religion; Substance Abuse; Alcohol, Tobacco, and Other Drugs; Violence




Email: jbelcher@ssw.umaryland.edu  | Phone: (410) 706-3613 | Room: 3E11


 

Mel Bellin

Melissa Bellin, Associate Professor

Research Interests: Child and Family Adaptation to Chronic Illness and Disability; Developmental Disabilities; Family Centered Care; Interdisciplinary Collaboration; Social Work Practice in Health Care




Email: mbellin@ssw.umaryland.edu  | Phone: (410) 706-4409 | Room: 3E43


 

Aaron Betsinger headshot

Aaron Betsinger, Research Assistant Professor

Research Interests: Juvenile Justice; Racial Disparities in the Juvenile Justice System; Implementation of Evidence-Based Practices; Federal Criminal Sentencing


 

 

Email: abetsinger@ssw.umaryland.edu  | Phone: (410) 706-4174 | Room: 3rd Floor


 

Lisa Berlin

Lisa Berlin, Associate Professor

Research Interests: Infant-Parent Attachment; Early Parenting; Prevention of Child Maltreatment; Home Visiting; Program Evaluation





Email: lberlin@ssw.umaryland.edu  | Phone: (410) 706-6392 | Room: 3E29-D


 

Tony Bonadio Headshot

Tony Bonadio, Research Assistant Professor

Research Interests: Improving effectiveness and efficiency of mental health treatment for children, adolescents, and families in community, school, and primary care settings through the applied use of empirical data; comparative effectiveness research; program evaluation; community psychology; assessment and psychometrics; multivariate statistics and mixture modeling techniques.

 

 

Email: fbonadio@ssw.umaryland.edu | Phone: 410-706-4882


Charlotte Bright

Charlotte Bright, Associate Dean for Doctoral & Post-Doctoral Education

Research Interests: Gender and Juvenile Justice; Child Maltreatment; Interpersonal Trauma; Adolescent and Young Adult Development; Service Implementation; Quantitative and Qualitative Methodology



Email: cbright@ssw.umaryland.edu  | Phone: (410) 706-3605 | Room: 511 LAW/SSW


 

Caroline Long Burry, Associate Professor & Chair of the Families and Children Specialization

Research Interests: Adoption; Foster Care; Evidence-Informed Practices in Child Welfare; Parental Incarceration; Prenatal Substance Exposure

 

 

Email: cburry@ssw.umaryland.edu  | Phone: (410) 706-3509 | Room: 5E39


 

John Cagle

John Cagle, Associate Professor

Research Interests: Hospice and Palliative Care; Psychosocial Aspects of Pain and Pain Management; Caregiving at the End of Life; The Intersection of Aging, Health and Palliative Care; End-of-Life Care in Long Term Care Settings; The Economic Impact of End-of-Life Care on Families

 

 

Email: jcagle@ssw.umaryland.edu  | Phone: (410) 706-6106 | Room: 3W13


 

Christine Callahan

Christine Callahan, Research Assistant Professor

Research Interests: Financial Social Work

 

 

 

Email: ccallahan@ssw.umaryland.edu  | Phone: (410) 706-7051 | Room: 3W23


 

Franklin Chappell

Franklin Chappell, Clinical Assistant Professor and Coordinator of Field Education

Research Interests: Social Work Field Education, Health Issues, Loss and Grief


 

 

Email: fchappell@ssw.umaryland.edu  | Phone: (410) 706-3600 | Room: 5E30


 

Amy Cohen-Callow

Amy Cohen-Callow, Clinical Assistant Professor

Research Interests: Volunteerism; Social Work/Non-profit Administration; Program Planning and Evaluation; Training; Aging


 

 

Email: acohen@ssw.umaryland.edu  | Phone: (410) 706-1086 | Room: 3E29A


 

Kathryn S. Collins headshot

Kathryn S. Collins, Associate Professor

Research Interests: Violence Exposure and Trauma Symptomatology; Mental Health and Disability Policies; Cognitive/Narrative Evidence Based Interventions in Social Work Education, Research and Practice; Feminist Pedagogy

 

 

Email: kcollins@ssw.umaryland.edu  | Phone: (410) 706-0814 | Room: 3E29G


 

Sarah Dababnah

Sarah Dababnah, Assistant Professor

Research Interests: Services and Support for Individuals with Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities; Child and Adolescent Mental Health; Sceening of Autism Spectrum Disorders; Early Intervention Services for Young; Children with or At Risk for Developmental Disabilities; Health-Related Issues of Adults with Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities and their Caregivers; Evidence-based Practices; Disability and Mental Health Policy; Cross-Cultural Comparisons; Global Disability Issues; Quantitative and Qualitative Research Methods

 

Email: sdababnah@ssw.umaryland.edu  | Phone: (410) 706-8076 | Room: 5E39


 

Joan Davitt

Joan Davitt, Associate Professor and Chair of Aging Specialization

Research Interests: Aging; Home Care; Racial/Ethnic Disparities in Home Health Care

 

 

 

Email: jdavitt@ssw.umaryland.edu  | Phone: (410) 706-5116 | Room: 3W11


 

Bruce DeForge

Bruce R. DeForge, Associate Professor

Research Interests: Medical Sociology – Social Psychological Aspects of Health, Health Attitudes/Beliefs, Health Status, Quality of Life, Social/Psychological Well-Being, Health Disparities; Health Literacy; Sociology of Mental Health (stigma); Social Psychology (attitudes and public opinion, self-concept); Homelessness; Mental Health Policy
 

 

Email: bdeforge@ssw.umaryland.edu  | Phone: (410) 706-5612 | Room: 3E13


 

Diblasio Headshot

Frederick A. DiBlasio, Professor

Research Interests: Clinical Use of Forgiveness; Clinical Practice Issues
 

 

 

 

Email: fdiblasio@ssw.umaryland.edu  | Phone: (410) 706-7799 | Room: 5E43


Nancy Dickinson

Nancy S. Dickinson, Clinical Professor

Research Interests: Leadership in Child Welfare; Child Welfare Research; Child Welfare Education and Training
 

 

 

Email:ndickinson@ssw.umaryland.edu | Phone:(410) 706-3740 | Room:546 LAW/SSW


 

Melissa Smith

Melissa Edmondson Smith, Assistant Professor

Research Interests: Severe Mental Illness; African Americans with Schizophrenia; Ethnic Minorities with Schizophrenia; Mental Health Treatment Outcomes; Mental Health Services Research
 

 

 

Email: medmondson@ssw.umaryland.edu | Phone: (410) 706-5107 | Room: 3W15


 

Jill Farrell

Jill Farrell, Research Assistant Professor

Research Interests: Juvenile Justice; Implementation of Evidence-Based Practices; Racial Disparities in the Juvenile Justice System; Program Evaluation; Using Data to Inform Policy; Workforce Development
 

 

 

Email: jfarrell@ssw.umaryland.edu | Phone: (410) 706-6693 | Room: 306 W.Redwood


 

Nadine Finigan

Nadine Finigan-Carr, Research Associate Professor and Assistant Director of the RYC

Research Interests: Public Health Social Work; Adolescent Risk Behaviors– sexual reproductive health, aggression and violence, substance use; ChildWelfare; Child Sex Trafficking; Parent Engagement
 

 

 

Email:nfinigan-carr@ssw.umaryland.edu | Phone:(410) 706-7157 | Room:SSW/LAW 517


Pamela Clarkson Freeman

Pamela Clarkson Freeman, Research Assistant Professor

Research Interests: Program Evaluation and Quantitative Methods; Applied Statistics; Intervention Research with At-risk Youth and Families; Social Work Practice with Children; Trauma Focused CBT, Child Parent Psychotherapy, and Wrap-Around Services for Children Who Have Experienced Trauma



Email:pfreeman@ssw.umaryland.edu  | Phone:(410)-706-6349| Room:SSW/Law 509


 

Jodi Frey

Jodi Jacobson Frey, Associate Professor

Research Interests: Employee Assistance Programs (EAPs); Health and Productivity Management; Financial Capability and Economic Well-Being; Suicide Prevention and Crisis Intervention





Email: jfrey@ssw.umaryland.edu  | Phone: (410) 706-3607 | Room: 3W08


 

Debbie Gioia

Deborah Gioia, Associate Professor

Research Interests: Schizophrenia and Vocational Identity; Evidence-Based Practice Adoption by Mental Health Practitioners; Adolescence and Emerging Adulthood; Veteran’s Mental Health; First Episode Psychosis





Email: dgioia@ssw.umaryland.edu  | Phone: (410) 706-7765 | Room: 3W16


 

Elizabeth Greeno Headshot

Elizabeth Greeno, Research Associate Professor

Research Interests: Child Welfare; Trauma; Child Abuse & Neglect; Child Welfare; WorkforceMental Health





Email: egreeno@ssw.umaryland.edu  | Phone: (410) 706-4259 | Room: 306 W.Redwood


 

Geoff Greif

Geoffrey L. Greif, Professor

Research Interests: Family Therapy; Group Work; Child Abduction; Single Parents; Friendships





Email: ggreif@ssw.umaryland.edu  | Phone: (410) 706-3567 | Room: 3W01


 

Angela Henneberger

Angela K. Henneberger, Research Assistant Professor

Research Interests: Positive Youth Development; Peer Relationships; At-Risk Youth; Academic Development; Social Development; Causal Inference; Advanced Statistical Methods


Email: ahenneberger@ssw.umaryland.edu | Phone: (410) 706-6341 | Room: LAW/SSW COO6-B


 

Karen Hopkins

Karen Hopkins, Associate Professor

Research Interests: Organizational Learning, Capacity-building, and Development; Management Practices that Enhance Worker Well-Being and Performance; Workforce Development, Performance Management; Program Evaluation




Email: khopkins@ssw.umaryland.edu | Phone: (410) 706-1496 | Room: 3E29-C


 

Angela Jachelski Headshot

Angela Jachelski, Clinical Instructor and Coordinator for Macro Field Education

Research Interests: Social Work Field Education,  Evidenced Based Mental Health services for youth engaged in the Child Welfare system



 

Email:ajachelski@ssw.umaryland.edu | Phone(410) 706-3363 | Room: 5E34


Kearley Brook

Brook Kearley, Research Assistant Professor

Research Interests: Criminal and Juvenile Justice Policy; Experimental Methods; Program evaluation with a focus on substance use and deliquency prevention and intervention programs.

 

 

 

Email: Brook.Kearley@ssw.umaryland.edu | Phone: (410)706-2382 | Room: 306 W. Redwood Street


Amanda Lehning

Amanda Lehning, Associate Professor

Research Interests: Aging in place, Neighborhoods and Health, Health Inequities in Later Life, Long-Term Services and Supports, Health Policy, Housing and Transportation




Email: alehning@ssw.umaryland.edu  | Phone: (410) 706-3831 | Room: 3W04


 

Erika Lewis

Ericka Lewis, Assistant Professor

Research Interests: Child Neglect, Parent Training, Mental Health Services, Prevention Research, Implementation of Evidence-Based Interventions




Email: Ericka.Lewis@ssw.umaryland.edu  | Phone: (410) 706-0341 | Room: 3W05


 

Bethany Lee

Bethany R. Lee, Associate Professor

Research Interests: Child Welfare;Children's Mental Health;Quality of Care;Out-of-home Care;Residential Treatment;Treatment Foster Care; Quantitative Methodology


 

Email: blee@ssw.umaryland.edu | Phone: (410) 706-3809 | Room: 5E20


 

Kyla Liggett-Creel Headshot

Kyla Liggett-Creel, Assistant Clinical Professor

Research Interests: Early Childhood; Trauma; Cultural Competence; Place-based Initiatives; Program Evaluation; Families in Urban Environments

 

 

 

 

Email: kliggett-creel@ssw.umaryland.edu | Phone: 410-706-1099 | Room: 2W04


Samuel Little

Samuel B. Little, Associate Dean for Field Education

Research Interests: Child Neglect, Parent Training, Mental Health Services, Prevention Research, Implementation of Evidence-Based Interventions




Email: sblittle@ssw.umaryland.edu  | Phone: (410) 706-4545 | Room: 5E38


 

Laura Loessner

Laura Loessner, Assistant Director for Field Education

Research Interests: Community-based Non-Profit, Trauma, Clinical Supervision, K-12 Special Education, Charter Schools, Medicaid



Email: lloessner@ssw.umaryland.edu | Phone: (410) 706-6352 | Room: 5E36


 

Megan Meyer

Megan Meyer, Associate Dean for Academic Affairs & Associate Professor

Research Interests: Community Organizing and Advocacy; Community-University PartnershipsHuman Service Organizations; Qualitative Research; Social Capital Development; Social Movements
 

 

Email: mmeyer@ssw.umaryland.edu | Phone: (410) 706-5635 | Room: 5E06


 

Carlton Munson

Carlton E. Munson, Professor

Research Interests: Dr. Munson's practice and research focuses on trauma and loss in children including international child abduction. Dr. Munson has a special research interest in the effects of trauma on child development including a focus on receptive and language impairments. Dr. Munson has performed research and has publications in several areas of clinical social work practice and supervision.
 

Email: cmunson@ssw.umaryland.edu | Phone: (410) 706-3602 | Room: 5E15

 


nalini negi

Nalini Negi, Associate Professor

Research Interests: Migration; Substance Abuse; Mental Health of Latino Immigrants; Ethnic/Racial Identity; Culturally Competent Social Work Practice
 



Email: nnegi@ssw.umaryland.edu | Phone: (410) 706-3024 | Room: 5E08


Ed Pecukonis

Edward Pecukonis, Associate Professor

Research Interests: Cognitive-Behavioral Therapy; Indentifying the Long-Term Sequela of Child Abuse and Family Violence on Adults; Health Status and Psychological Well-Being; Psycho-analytically Oriented Individual Psychotherapy
 


Email: epecukonis@ssw.umaryland.edu | Phone: (410) 706-7533 | Room: 5E41


Joan Pittman

Joan Pittman, Clinical Associate Professor and Director of the MSW Program at Shady Grove

Research Interests: Mental Health; Clinical Practice with Individuals, Couples, and Families; Group Work; Social Work Education; Supervision


Email: jpittman@ssw.umaryland.edu | Phone: (301) 738-6013 | Room: USG III-3145, Camille Kendall Academic Center (Building II)


Michael Reisch

Dr. Michael Reisch, Daniel Thursz Distinguished Professor of Social Justice

Research Interests: Social Justice; Poverty and Inequality; Social Welfare Policy; Policy Advocacy; International Social Welfare
 


Email: mreisch@ssw.umaryland.edu | Phone: (410) 706-5088 | Room: 3W02


Shoshana Ringel

Shoshana Ringel, Associate Professor

Research Interests: Trauma; Attachment theory and practice; Psychodynamic treatment; Mindfulness based treatment
 



Email: sringel@ssw.umaryland.edu | Phone: (410) 706-7890 | Room: 3W18


Theda Rose

Theda Rose, Assistant Professor

Research Interests: Research Interests: Adolescent Mental Health Promotion; Measurement of Adolescent Mental Wellbeing; School and Community-based Adolescent Mental Health Promotion Interventions; Positive Youth Development; Program Evaluation; Public Health Social Work




Email: trose@ssw.umaryland.edu  | Phone: (410) 706-4127 | Room: 3W07


 

Paul Sacco

Paul Sacco, Associate Dean for Research and Associate Professor

Research Interests: Alcohol and Drug Use; Pathological and Problem Gambling; Aging and Life Course Development; Latent Variable Methodology



Email: psacco@ssw.umaryland.edu  | Phone: (410) 706-8099 | Room: 5E21


 

Adam Schneider Headshot

Adam Schneider, Clinical Instructor

Research Interests: Homelessness, Public Policy, Public Health



Email: aschneider@ssw.umaryland.edu  | Phone: (410) 706-6391 | Room: 3W25


 

Wendy Shaia 170x170

Wendy Shaia, Clinical Assistant Professor and Executive Director of SWCOS

Research Interests: Race and equity; Poverty and social justice; Black and African-American children with autism; Single parenting children of color; Organizational development.




Email: wshaia@ssw.umaryland.edu | Phone: 410-706-5130 | Room: SWCOS


Terry Shaw

Terry V. Shaw, Associate Professor

Research Interests: Child Welfare; Advanced Statistical Methods with Administrative Data; Environmental Issues Into Social Work Policy & Practice; Child Welfare Outcomes and Accountability; Adoption and Other Avenues to Permanency; Using Data to Inform Policy




Email: tshaw@ssw.umaryland.edu  | Phone: (410) 706-3811 | Room: SSW/LAW 559


 

Corey Shdaimah

Corey Shdaimah, Professor & Academic coordinator for the MSW/JD Dual Degree Program

Research Interests: Street-based Sex Work; Court-Affiliated Prostitution Diversion Programs; Child Care Policy; Theory and practice knowledge




Email: cshdaimah@ssw.umaryland.edu  | Phone: (410) 706-7544 | Room: 3W17


 

Peter Smith headshot

Peter Smith, Clinical Instructor

Research Interests: Theory Development, Emotional Systems Theory, Object Relations Theory, Clinical Practice, Human Behavior Theories, and the Interface of Religion and Mental Health.



Email: psmith@ssw.umaryland.edu  | Phone: (410) 706-5120 | Room: 2E15


Sheila Snowden

Sheila Y. Snowden, Clinical Instructor and Coordinator for Field Education

Research Interests: Field Education; Correctional Mental Health and Substance Abuse Programs; Mental Health; Substance Abuse



Email: ssnowden@ssw.umaryland.edu  | Phone: (410) 706-3899 | Room: 5E37


Victoria Stubbs

Victoria D. Stubbs, Clinical Instructor

Research Interests: Domestic Violence; Trauma; Clinical Supervision



Email: vstubbs@ssw.umaryland.edu | Phone: (410) 706-8303 | Room: 3E21


Michelle Tuten

Michelle Tuten, Associate Professor

Research Interests: Behavioral Health, Substance Abuse
 


Email: mtuten@ssw.umaryland.edu | Phone: (410) 706-7519 | Room: 5E28


Jay Unick

Jay Unick, Associate Professor

Research Interests: Social and Psychiatric Epidemiology; Psychiatric Diagnosis; Health Consequences of Heroin Use; Organization and Financing of Mental Health Services; Mental Health Outcome Measurement


Email: junick@ssw.umaryland.edu  | Phone: (410) 706-3735  | Room: 5E22


 

Fernando Wagner

Fernando Wagner, Professor

Research Interests: Development of methods, knowledge, and community-based participatory interventions promoting wellness and public mental health.
 

 

 

Email: fernando.wagner@ssw.umaryland.edu | Phone: (410) 706-5696 | Room: 5E10


 

Alexandra Wimberly Headshot

Alexandra Wimberly, Assistant Professor

Research Interests: Complementary health approaches for stress coping and substance use problems, including yoga and mindfulness meditation; Stress and substance use; Substance use and HIV interventions for people with criminal justice involvement; Continuing care for substance use

 

 

Email: awimberly@ssw.umaryland.edu | Room: 5E26


Michael Woolley

Michael Woolley, Associate Professor

Research Interests: Social Environment Influences on Educational Outcomes of Vulnerable Student Populations, Social Work Practice with Children, Youth and Families


Email: mwoolley@ssw.umaryland.edu | Phone: (410) 706-7839 | Room: 3W14