Meet the Staff

Field Education is an important component of graduate social work education. Included in a student's Plan of Study will be two different field placements in social services agencies, departments or other service delivery systems located throughout the State of Maryland and surrounding areas. The Office of Field Education is responsible for recruitment of field instructors and placement sites; coordination of student placements; and orientation, training, and monitoring of students, field instructors, and faculty field liaisons. Our staff is comprised of social work professionals, all having a diverse range of experiences in the field. 

Email: fieldeducation@ssw.umaryland.edu

Faculty

Samuel Little Headshot

Samuel Little PhD, LCSW-C

Associate Dean and Director of Field Education
sblittle@ssw.umaryland.edu 

Laura Headshot

Laura Loessner MSW, LICSW, LCSW-C

Assistant Director Field Education
lloessner@ssw.umaryland.edu 

 
Chappell Headshot
Franklin Chappell MSW, LCSW-C
Clinical Assistant Professor and Coordinator for Field Education
fchappell@ssw.umaryland.edu  
Denise Chop
Denise Chop MSW, LCSW-C 
Clinical Instructor and Coordinator for Field Education
dchop@ssw.umaryland.edu  

Cox-Branch Headshot

Caron Cox-Branch LCSW-C 
Clinical Instructor and Coordinator for Field Education
ccox-branch@ssw.umaryland.edu 

Giselle Headshot

Gisele Ferretto MSW, LCSW-C 
Clinical Instructor and Manager of Training for Field Education
gferretto@ssw.umaryland.edu

  

Angela Headshot

Angela Jachelski LMSW
Clinical Instructor and Coordinator for MACRO Field Placements
ajachelski@ssw.umarylan.edu  

Monifa Headshot

Monifa Johnson LCSW-C, LICSW, LCSW 
Clinical Instructor and Progam Coordinator for BHWISE-IOWA
monifa.johnson@ssw.umaryland.edu 

April Latson headshot

April Latson LMSW 
Clinical Instructor and Coordinator for Field Education
april.latson@ssw.umaryland.edu 

Debra Linsenmeyer

Debra Linsenmeyer LCSW-C 
Clinical Instructor and Director Title IV-E Education for Public Child Welfare Program
dlinsenmeyer@ssw.umaryland.edu

Nathanson Headshot

Barbara Nathanson LCSW-C
Clinical Instructor and Coordinator for Field Education at Shady Grove
bnathanson@ssw.umaryland.edu

Smith Headshot

Everett Smith, LMSW
Clinical Instructor and Coordinator for Field Education
everett-smith@ssw.umaryland.edu