For MSW admissions questions, please visit the Office of Admissions page.

Mailing Address:

UMB School of Social Work
525 West Redwood Street
Baltimore, MD 21201

410-706-7790

Academic Advising

Key Staff: Alex Cosentino-Tich
Location: 2E41
Topics: Plan of study reviews; curriculum information; academic policies and procedures; school and campus resources
Email: sswadvising@ssw.umaryland.edu

Academic Affairs

Key Staff: Amanda Lehning
Location: 5E06
Topics: Teaching load, course scheduling and assignments, textbook orders, master syllabi
Email: alehning@ssw.umaryland.edu

Communications

Topics: Printing research posters, faculty website content, faculty photo, media relations
Email: communications@ssw.umaryland.edu 

Copy Center & Office Supplies

Key Staff: Justin Hanna
Location: 1E08
Topics: Keys, Supplies, copy requests, mail, building access, room reservations
Email: jhanna@ssw.umaryland.edu

Dean’s Office

Topics: Reserving Dean’s Conference room; scheduling meetings with Dean
Email: dean@ssw.umaryland.edu 

Faculty Committees and Governance

Key Staff: Jay Unick, Chair of the Faculty
Location: 5E22
Topics: Committee assignment, structure of faculty organization; faculty meeting schedule;
Email: jfrey@ssw.umaryland.edu

Field Education

Key Staff: Sam Little, Laura Loessner
Location: 5E38
Topics: Field placement assignments for foundation and advanced students; Field Liaison assignments; access to field notebook to learn about field agencies; Field Education Advisory Committee
Email: slittle@ssw.umaryland.edu

Financial Resources

Key Staff: Gene Severance
Location: Paca Street
Topics: Moving expense reimbursement, faculty development account;
Email: gseverance@ssw.umaryland.edu

Informatics

Key Staff: Dave Pitts
Location: 4E11
Topics: Hardware, software, Eduroam wireless access, instructional computer lab;
Email: dpitts@ssw.umaryland.edu

Instructional Design

Key Staff: Clark Shah-Nelson
Location: 4E13
Email: Clark.Shah-Nelson@ssw.umaryland.edu

Instructional Technology

Key Staff: Colin Fagan
Location: 550 W. Baltimore Street. 5th floor
Topics: Blackboard orientation and course creation
Email: cfagan@ssw.umaryland.edu

Media Center

Key Staff: Tom Mitchell, Brandon Green
Location: 4E39
Topics: Sign out media equipment, Mediasite video collection
Email: tmitchell@ssw.umaryland.edubgreen@ssw.umaryland.edu

PhD Program

Key Staff: Jen Canapp
Location: 550 W. Baltimore, 511
Topics: Requesting GRA, auditing PhD course
Email: jcanapp@ssw.umaryland.edu

Records & Registration

Key Staff: Danielle Ward
Location: 1W05
Topics: Class list, course enrollment, veterans affairs, leave of absence, grading questions
Email: danielle.ward@ssw.umaryland.edu

Research Resources

Key Staff: Jodi Frey, PhD
Location: 5e10
Topics: Writing resources, grant generation, mentoring
Email: jfrey@ssw.umaryland.edu

School Funded Requests

Key Staff: Dawntrell Thomas 
Topics: School funded travel requests, conference registration, equipment purchases
Email: dthomas@ssw.umaryland.edu

Sponsored Projects

Key Staff: Marc Lennon
Location: 2e09
Topics: pre-award, proposal development, budgets, grant management
Email: marc.lennon@ssw.umaryland.edu 

SSW Human Resources

Key Staff: Kimberly Lee
Location: Paca Street
Topics: Hiring a new employee, payroll, benefits, timesheets and leave questions
Email:  kimbermlee@ssw.umaryland.edu

SSW IRB

Key Staff: Bruce DeForge
Location: 3E13
Topics: Writing IRB protocols, working with campus IRB
Email: bdeforge@ssw.umaryland.edu

Statistical Consultation

Topics: Assistance is available for individual questions related to analysis, planning, grant-writing and interpretation.

Student Affairs

Key Staff: Dawn Shafer
Location: Suite 1West
Topics: Struggling students, ESDS students, student-related policies and procedures
Email: DSHAFER@ssw.umaryland.edu

Student Services

Key Staff: Henriette Taylor, Theresa Washington
Location: 2W14
Topics: Struggling students, SGA, orientation, convocation
Email: twashington@ssw.umaryland.edu

Ready to be a Changemaker?