Financial Social Work Initiative Steering Committee Contact List


Christine Callahan, PhD, MSW, LCSW-C


Research Associate Professor, UMSSW 
Chair, Financial Social Work Initiative

University Partners

Haksoon Ahn, PhD, MSW


Associate Professor, UMSSW 

Brittney Brookins

Brittney Brookins

Senior Media and Public Relations Specialist, Office of Communications and Public Affairs, UMB

John Cagle, PhD

John Cagle

Associate Professor, UMSSW

Iris Cardenas, PhD

Iris Cardenas, PhD

Assistant Professor, UMSSW

Christabel Cheung, PhD, MSW


Assistant Professor, UMSSW 

Denise Chop, MSW, LCSW-C

Denise Chop

Clinical Instructor and Coordinator for Field Education, UMSSW


Matt Conn

Matt Conn

Assistant Dean for Communications, UMSSW

Julie Cronan, MSW

Cronan, Julie

Research Specialist, UMSSW

Becky Davis, MSW, LMSW

Becky Davis

Adjunct Professor, UMSSW
Assistant Director, SWCOS, UMSSW

Rachel Donegan, JD

Rachel Headshot

Assistant Director, Promise Heights, UMSSW

Aloysius "Al" Essien

Essien, Aloysius

Director, Corporate and Foundation Relations, Office of Philanthropy, UMB

Kerri Evans, PhD

Kerri Evans Headshot

Assistant Professor, Department of Social Work
University of Maryland, Baltimore County (UMBC)

David Flinchbaugh

David Headshot

Associate Dean, Development and Alumni Relations, UMSSW

Jodi Jacobson Frey, PhD, MSW, LCSW-C, CEAP

Jodi Frey 150px

Associate Dean for Research and Professor, UMSSW
Chair, Social Work in the Workplace & Employee Assistance Sub-specialization

Isabelle Garcia

Isabelle Headshot

Annual Fund Officer, UMSSW

Seante Hatcher, LCSW-C

Seante Hatcher

Assistant Dean, Office of Continuing Professional Education, UMSSW

Karen Hopkins, PhD

Karen Hopkins Heashot

Associate Professor, UMSSW

Jinhee Kim, PhD

Kim, Jinhee

Professor and Assistant Director
Family and Consumer Sciences Program Leader
University of Maryland Extension

Samuel Little, PhD

Sam Little Headshot

Associate Dean of Field Education, UMSSW

Wayne G. Phoel, PhD

Photo Coming Soon

Visiting Research Engineer
Institute for Systems Research
University of Maryland

Paul Sacco, PhD, MSW

Paul Sacco Headshot

Associate Professor, UMSSW

Wendy Shaia, EdD


Clinical Associate Professor, UMSSW
Executive Director, Social Work Community Outreach Service (SWCOS)

Kira Silk, LMSW

Kira Silk Headshot

Director, Grand Challenges for Social Work, UMSSW

Kimberly Street, MSW, LPN, CCM

Street, Kimberly Headshot

Clinical Field Instructor, Social Work Community Outreach Service (SWCOS)
Enoch Pratt Library Program

Henriette Taylor, LMSW

Taylor, Henriette Headshot

Assistant Dean for Student Services,
Office of Student Services, UMSSW

Community Partners

Jeffrey Anvari-Clark, PHD, MA, MSW

Jeff Headshot

Assistant Professor, University of North Dakota Dept. of Social Work

Sara Johnson, MSW

Johnson, Sara

Adjunct Professor, UMSSW
Co-Founder and COO, CASH Campaign of Maryland

Jim Kunz, PhD

Kunz, Jim

Professor and Program Director, McDaniel College Dept. of Social Work

Robin Mckinney, MSW

Robin Headshot

Adjunct Professor, UMSSW
Co-Founder and CEO, CASH Campaign of Maryland

Julie Miller, PhD, MSW

Miller, Julie Headshot

Director of Thought Leadership, Financial Resilience, AARP 

Tisa Silver Canady, EdD, MBA

Silver Canady, Tisa Headshot

Founder and Director, Maryland Center for Collegiate Financial Wellness

Meg Woodside, MBA, MSW

Meg Woodside

Trustee, The Woodside Foundation
Founding FSWI Chair


Anthony Carter, MSW, LCSW-C

Carter, Anthony Headshot

Director, Practice Improvement & Consulting, National Council for Mental Wellbeing 

Ready to be a Changemaker?